gotham_central_book_three_-_on_the_freak_beat

With each Gotham Central book, the art and writing seem to grow more in sync. The story builds more smoothly and with more intrigue, the characters show more of their dimensions, and everything works together seamlessly.

To be perfectly honest, my love for Renee Montoya may have me skewed toward enjoying the arcs that involve her more than the others, but that doesn’t mean the rest of the stories are by any means subpar. In fact, everything here is high quality storytelling. I just have a soft spot for Renee. She’s so flawed and has so much personality, I can’t help being compelled by and drawn to her.

Art-wise, the quality remains consistent and a perfect match for the mood of the series. It’s not flashy. It’s understated and draws attention to details. Truth be told, I didn’t like the art style when I first opened Gotham Central, but it grew on me, and now I love it. I can’t say enough about the colours, either. Oftentimes I’d stop to admire the palettes chosen for a page or a whole spread, at the way they play off each other and add to the mood. It’s exceptional.

If you’re looking for an amazing crime-solving book, or some remarkable character work, this is your book. If you’re looking for realistic LGBTQ+ representation that’s also positive, this is your book. If you love the world that is Gotham City, this is your book. I can’t recommend it enough.

5/5 stars

