img_20160515_125612.jpg

All-New X-Men Vol 1 by Brian Michael Bendis, Stuart Immonen, and David Marquez (2014) – Hardcover Edition

This book is basically the first two volumes of All-New X-Men collected into an oversized hardcover. Best way to catch up on a series that’s already so far ahead, right?

It’s good. Not amazing, or groundbreaking, or anything especially memorable. I didn’t feel any big emotions or get too worried about the characters. I did, however, maintain enough interest to feel positively about the book and want to see how characters would react to meeting their older/younger selves. None of the characters really stand out, but I did like seeing Kitty Pryde take charge of the younger X-Men, and Storm is her usual regal self. There were a few moments between Kitty and Jean Grey that were also nice. I still don’t understand why people love Scott Summers. Mystique gets an interesting scene later on too.

I really like the art. Stuart Immonen just draws things in a way I love to look at. And some of the colouration is really good.

All in all, it’s an interesting concept that has potential, but I don’t think it was executed as well as it could have been. Bendis could have done a lot more with young characters dealing with their future selves. It ends up falling in the “decent if you want an X-Men read but I wouldn’t read it again” category.

3/5 stars

