img_20160425_155811.jpg
The Stepsister Scheme by Jim C. Hines (2009)

There is nothing I dislike about this book. Even the one thing I was going to complain about was eliminated by the end [more on that after the spoiler warning at the end]. I’m trying to think of something, but I’m coming up blank…

It’s a deliriously playful romp of a retold fairytale that not only captures the magic of a good adventure, but also masters the art of character interaction and personality. Each of the female leads (Snow White, Cinderella, and Sleeping Beauty) are distinct, with individual strengths, weaknesses, and interesting backstories, that tie them together as a fantastic team who grow into true friends.

Also… I ship a ship so gosh-darn hard!!! All you lady-lovers are gonna love the chemistry and banter between Snow White and Talia (aka. Sleeping Beauty). It’s delicious!

It’s beautiful and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!

5/5 stars

 

 

**SPOILER WARNING AHEAD**

My one complaint was going to be the lack of sexual diversity among the princesses. In other words, don’t tell me that of the three main characters, all of them are cis-gendered and heterosexual? Aaaaaaaaand thank goodness – they aren’t! Well, sort of. They’re all cis-gendered as far as we know, but for all you people who love your F/F ships – here’s a juicy piece of steak for you: Talia is in love with Snow. That’s all Hines has given us at this point in the series. We don’t know if Snow feels the same way. My feels really want them to end up together because they’re already like an old married couple.

Fingers crossed for something to happen in the future!

