I’d been debimg_20160414_101428.jpgating for over a year now on whether to invest in one of the gorgeous headphone hangers I’d been eyeing, and finally decided to take the dive this past week.

I don’t know about you, but I’m picky with how I keep my stuff. Possessions are meticulously used, stored, cared for, etc. If I’m dropping a lot of money for good quality shit, there’s no way I’m going to carelessly toss it in my desk drawer like it’s worth $5.

Headphone headbands are usually padded and rounded to fit the curve of the human head, which means anything they’re hanging from that doesn’t have a curved shape or padding is going to create unsightly dents in the headband – or at the very least, strain it in a way it isn’t meant to be strained. A curved hanger/stand is necessary.

If the earpads are going to be resting against something, it has to be wide enough to cover the entire pad so as not to dent lines into them. The surface (like the surface of the part resting on the headband) should also be either padded or smooth enough not to mark the pads.

For height, the stand should be high enough so the headphone connectors aren’t bent against the stand base or table when hanging/resting. Preferably, you shouldn’t have to compress the headband size to its smallest setting to put it away, only to have to readjust the size when you have to put it back on. It’s an extra unnecessary hassle.

Footpads are a must. I don’t want anything scratching the wood of my desk. Enough said.

 

2016-04-15-01.01.15.jpg.jpgOmega Headphone Stand

What I went with first were the acrylic omega stands from MOCREO, which were more affordable while meeting all of my requirements. This stand is great quality with a good amount of weight to it (though obviously not as heavy as metal). Four rubber footpads on the base keep the stand from scratching surfaces, but they’re not going to stop the stand from sliding somewhat when you replace/remove your headphones. The width of the stand is conveniently large enough to clamp most earpads onto without them spilling over the edge. My HyperX Cloud headset has plenty of room; my Audeze EL-8 fit perfectly with just a sliver of space enough for me not to worry; and my Audio-Technica ATH-M50x using pleather Brainwavz HM5 pads are a tight fit that have me adjusting either side to make sure they fit without going over (because they will otherwise).

This stand is great for breaking in the headphones (say, if the clamp is too tight), and the headband and earpads (if the cushions are too firm out-of-the-box). I’m using them to stretch out my EL-8 currently because they’re too clampy for my liking.

One small problem with these headphones is that they can be a little too short for my liking. The permanently connected cable of the HyperX Cloud headset wasn’t being bent to the point of danger, but… like I said, I’m meticulous. Thankfully, my other headphones have detachable cables so it isn’t as much of a concern for them.

A more practical problem is what to do when you acquire more than one headphone/headset. I loved my first omega stand so I bought a second to put my new headphones on, and then realized I didn’t have the desk space to keep both stands on my desk without over-cluttering it…

 

Dual-Headphone Hanger

2016-04-15-01.04.19.jpg.jpgAfter months of letting my extra omega stand sit on the floor with headphones on them, I finally decided it’d be worth it to invest in a headphone hanger that could hold more than one pair of headphones without taking away from my much-needed desk space. With much squinting at the computer screen to see if candidates met all my requirements, I had it narrowed down to two options: Woo Audio and SilverStone. Both are made of metal and come in either black or silver. I went with SilverStone because it was cheaper and had a sexier design.

A week later, I got to put together my new (and heavier-than-expected) headphone hanger. I felt like such a lesbian with my handy-dandy screwdriver conveniently within armsreach of my desk, assembling my new toy! After a little screwdriver work, I had a sleek, sexy silver headphone hanger upright on my desk, ready to take on any headphone I had.

Let me tell you, it’s worth the price. This stand is sturdy as heck. It has a matte finish that’s caught me off guard but isn’t a negative by any means. I believe it’s there to keep your headphones in place. There’s ample room for two headphones, and you can loop any cables around the trunk, on the base, or on the actual hanger with the headbands. It’s solid metal and well-balanced with no chance of tipping over. There’s also no way this stand’s going to be sliding around when you remove/replace headphones; it takes both my hands to shift it! And gosh, those are good footpads.

If my headphone/headset stable multiplies (which it most likely will), I’ll know exactly where I’m looking for a second headphone hanger.

2016-04-15-01.03.15.jpg.jpg

