img_20160331_223230.jpg

Fear Itself: The Fearless by Cullen Bunn, Matt Fraction,
Christopher Yost, Mark Bagely, & Peter Pelletier (2012)

This book is needlessly confusing with the abundance of flashbacks. It’s an okay book but not one I’d recommend unless you’re a fan of Valkyrie. Brunnhilde is the reason I read this. Sure, she’s cool, but unfortunately, she doesn’t wow. If Marguerite Bennett could write Valkyrie the way she does Angela in Angela: Queen of Hel that’d be awesome! As it is, it feels like the writers don’t know Val well enough to make her feel like a badass without simply killing/beating up everything in her way (which was also done too easily, in my opinion).

It doesn’t help that I’m not a fan of the art style used…

There isn’t anything particularly special about this book, which is disappointing considering how much I love Valkyrie. Buuuut, the end leads into the Fearless Defenders series, which I love – so yay!

 3/5 stars

