img_20160322_145715.jpg

By Becky Cloonan, Brenden Fletcher, & Karl Kerschl (2015)

 

Well! This is unexpectedly good! I didn’t know what to think of Gotham Academy when I first heard of it, or what they could make the story about, but I’m glad I read this. The art is so lovely, with the colours brining the lines to life in such a beautiful way.

The story brings mystery to the boarding school that is Gotham Academy. Our protagonist, Olive, went through something traumatic over the summer and is currently dealing with that, as well as figuring out her personal relationships with ot Well! This is unexpectedly good! I didn’t know what to think of Gotham Academy when I first heard of it, or what they could make the story about, but I’m glad I read this. The art is so lovely, with the colours brining the lines to life in such a beautiful way.

The story brings mystery to the boarding school that is Gotham Academy. Our protagonist, Olive, went through something traumatic over the summer and is currently dealing with that, as well as figuring out her personal relationships with other students, while being dragged into the mystery of the ghost of Gotham Academy.

It’s not very dark, but it’s not very light, either. There’s a good mix of story to keep the plot going, as well as character interactions. Olive, who I had trouble grasping when I’d only read the first issue, becomes much more interesting as you learn about her. I can’t help but find Maps/Mia endearing with her nerdy D&D references. And I’m digging Pomeline’s emo/punk look and chip-on-her-shoulder attitude.

Overall, it’s a beautifully illustrated, refreshing read for something set in the DC superhero universe, and I’m looking forward to more. Thank you, DC, for making something original!

4/5 stars

